Canalblog
Editer l'article Suivre ce blog Administration + Créer mon blog
Publicité
Tribulations d'une Française en Finlande
2 avril 2008

A Year in Tampere moves to Helsinki

Here we are. I've been preparing the title of this entry for weeks, if not months, agog to get the definitive assurance I would get both work and accommodation, and thus fill the frightening gap between decision and realization. I've even been delaying the announcement a bit, just to delight myself of the tender suffering of anticipation.

I will then work as trainee in the Helsinki office of Reuters, first news agency worldwide, from around mid-May to end of August. I will spend the summer in Finland, as I had decided, I will see the Summer Solstice, the almost nightless day, and live on the sun energy flooding through the window in the late middle of the night. No burst of exhilarated joy, even, after the two months I've spent trying to fond a placement (and let me add that finding a job in Finland for a foreigner who does not speak fluent Finnish is indeed a Hell of a job) as even such an interesting opportunity simply looks like the natural outcome of such work.

After a quite funny episode, taking place last Friday between 11AM and 3.30PM and during which I received a precipitated offer from the HOAS only by calling for a simple question, had to rush, print, fill and send the papers and terminate my contract with the TOAS, I got my new address for May-August. The HOAS made a brilliant work: I had asked for good transport connections and proximity of the city centre, and had the best location possible.
It is in Pasila, five minutes from the train station. Junailijankuja 5 B 074 cell 5 - a slight taste of Brazil, but it is just perfect for me.
Been walking a couple times from this train station to the city centre, so I know the way. It is along the tracks and the lake, and through a wooden houses district. It is wonderful.

My last exam takes place on Monday. Well, it would be more accurate to say that the retake exam of this last exam I doubt I'll be able to pass takes place on 25th, but we'll see. Afterwards, there's the Tampere Biennale, a lot of music, sun, birds, three free - free - weeks  to pack everything, maybe going to Czech Republic...

And before that, Naevus in Tampere, whose devoted expectation turns almost into pain. Soil almost makes me cry out of understanding. The perspective of their concert tinted the last weeks with impatience and happiness. For the pleasure of your beloved ears:

Naevus - Look to the State

Naevus - Visions, Rushed

Today I am in Finland for eight months and a day. Be it the return of the little birds or that of the Sun, which wakes me up in the ever earlier morning, the arrival of touching bizarre packages and new music, which confirms again and again this country is my country, but I'm burning of energy. Or perhaps of happiness. It seems somehow that I understood some more things lately, and the ascent and its speed are more and more vertiginous.


Oh, and on a little last note, the gentlemen of Secrets of the Moon fell upon my pictures and liked them a lot. Just too glad my vision of them matched theirs. Besides that, Yury has been asking me for more photos. It seems I might do the cover for the Convivial Hermit Magazine #4... Oh joy

Publicité
Publicité
Commentaires
Tribulations d'une Française en Finlande
Publicité
Tribulations d'une Française en Finlande
Derniers commentaires
Publicité