Canalblog
Editer l'article Suivre ce blog Administration + Créer mon blog
Publicité
Tribulations d'une Française en Finlande
20 mars 2008

A Very Long Day (Part 1)

A night no longer than three or four hours usually does not let augur any positive outcome for the following day, or so was my sentiment that morning, painfully dragging myself out of bed with a feeling of complete unpreparedness. Yet all papers were in order in my folder, and I was mentally prepared to such circumstances for long. The spare time margin was just sufficient to rush into the train two minutes before it leaves.
I was surprised to understand parts of the discussion what the couple sitting behind me in the train was holding. Not translating. In a state of half-consciousness, half-asleep, I just understood the meaning. There are some other strange changes regarding Finnish - last week as I was absent-mindedly listening to my Finnish friends discussing, I somehow happened to think they spoke English. Not something I could get, it only sounded like English. I'm mixing up.

Here we are then... I stepped on the platform in the Helsinki train station and it felt like I hadn't been there for longer than I've actually been. Yeah, last times were either at night - still months ago - or in a different atmosphere. Then was the sun shining and the air fresh... I've always thought the best way to approach an unknown city is to get lost inside - to draw one's own map with one's feet. That was good luck. I had the right address but no map at all. Good luck, yeah... I had to get back into the Kamppi building to understand the reason why I couldn't find the right street was that I missed the signboard indicating I had to get one level up to the other direction.
The Tavastia was indeed across the street. It is so small, did I think like all the others.
Some businessman opened the door for me and I got to the clear, new office of the fourth floor. I went off like a dream. Enthusiastic and welcoming people make you enthusiastic and welcoming. No, if ever any further proof was needed besides the people I hold dear here - how could I have thought a second anything else than... yes, this is the place.

I was planning to get to the market. The best way to meet intimately a city is to lose oneself in it. I walked straight through parts of the city I knew and others I never saw, for a while, as if I would burst into contentment if I stopped... And the fresh air of the sea... Last week in Turku, again, I tried to get to the sea, my sea, but my feet failed to carry me farther than the beginning of the estuary - there I felt the rough and cold air of the sea I know so well, my smile bloomed as I caught its sight at the end of a street.
I thought I began to love this city.
I did as I said and ate muffins sitting by the water and the boats.

I strode so many times the Pohjoesplanadi that it felt familiar already, and the sun emerged from a cloud precisely at that moment. I found again with a mixed pleasure the round pavement so horrible to walk and arrived on the Senate Square - the Cathedral was illuminated by the sun, almost impossible to stare at. Leaving by a street on its side, I had a look back to the first sight I clearly remember, from the very first time I came. The bright white church on grey clouds and blue. Oh so long ago...
I slept all along the way back.


Publicité
Publicité
Commentaires
Tribulations d'une Française en Finlande
Publicité
Tribulations d'une Française en Finlande
Derniers commentaires
Publicité